Vegetarian

Macaroni Please

I thought I’d start my blog by sharing my recipe for my most favourite dish ever,¬†Macaroni Cheese. mmmm. Don’t be put off by the marmite if you’re a hater – you won’t even know it’s there, it just enhances the cheesiness.

I’ve also got a 5-cheese variation coming your way so keep an eye out if you like this…

Ingredients: serves twoMacaroni ingredients .png

Melt the butter in the saucepan and turn the heat down low.

Add the flour and stir quickly to form a dough. Slowly add drops of milk to make a thick paste. This is when you can add the mustard and marmite. You may need to turn the heat off while you do this or you will end up with a lumpy roux.

Continue slowly (one drop at a time) adding the milk and stir rapidly, this only stays lump free if you’re patient with it. Continue until you are happy with the thickness of your sauce – you may need to add more milk.

Put your pasta on to boil with a big pinch of salt (takes about 1o minutes)

Throw in the cheese and stir, and a few crunches of salt and lots of black pepper and simmer on a low heat while it thickens.

At the end I like to put it in an oven proof dish, grate parmesan over the top and grill for 5 minutes until crispy on the top. Sometimes I add a few slices of tomato and Worcestershire sauce too.

And sometimes¬†I can’t even wait to put it in a bowl I just eat it straight out the dish with a spoon¬†nomnomnom.

 

 

Leave a Reply

